6/1 – An introduction into Rio

by outdoorextremist

kimberlygilbert92's Blog

From yesterday I already knew that Rio de Janeiro was a gorgeous city, but today I got an even better idea of Rio’s beauty. My classmates and I went on a tour, and the first stop was the beach. I jumped out of the van and ran onto the sand, overwhelmed by the beauty of the water, the mountains, the buildings, everything. There were people hang gliding, and of course I added that to my list of things to do while I’m here.

Then we went into the Floresta Tijuca, the world’s largest urban forest. I didn’t even know there was a forest in Rio, so this was a cool surprise to me. It was really beautiful, and we stopped by a waterfall. Then we hit the road again to ascend up to the Christ the Redeemer statue. It was a long drive, but the view was breathtaking. We were…

View original post 167 more words

